Fron ‘Blogspot’ 2010

There are just a few things I can remember without help from ‘loved-ones’ that were always by my side throughout this tragedy….and I say tragedy, because NO other word can describe what I went through. This accident happened less than 6 weeks from Graduation ceremonies of the Marshall School of Business….my future looked extremely bright and hopeful. I had been at the ‘top of my game’. Effectively dealing with this Traumatic Brain Injury accident has taken A VERY large amount of patience.

At first I had NO idea what had happened to me, or what I had been through. Believe it or not, I just knew how rigorous the coursework was at the University of Southern California, so I just knew that I had some ‘paper’ or ‘project’ that needed to be submitted for a grade. But I did couldn’t remember a single thing. I still have some memory issues but they are remedying themselves, in due time

Because I was comatose for a lengthy amount of time your brain chooses to ‘shut down’, not remembering the pain you had to go through. This act is referred to as Post Traumatic Amnesia. I was unable to remember absolutely anything, almost 6-8 months prior to the accident.

My Physical State had diminished substantially. I weighed 192 pounds at 5′ 7″ inches, with a pretty athletic stature before being Hospitalized for 3 months, at Rancho Los Amigos National Rehabilitation Hospital in Downey, CA.

When I was ready to be discharged from that Hospital I weighed just 127 pounds. All of the muscle building that I had done prior to this accident, sustained me, and gave me the ability to remain living.

  • Unable to walk….forced to use a wheelchair. ALWAYS feeling like an inconvenience
  • Was happy to be home, missed my own bed, Took me 25 minutes to go up 17 stairs to my Bedroom w/ my Brother behind me, pushing me ‘UP’ the stairs for security.
  • Had to urinate inside a plastic container….because I was UNABLE to visit the restroom, myself. I used to ‘nick-name’ it…..’my little cocktail’.
  • Someone always had to be with me 24 hours a day, so I wouldn’t injure myself.
  • Had to wear adult diapers in the hospital and at home, initially .
  • Every 3 days had to have my Mother give me a shower, while I sat down in a ‘shower-chair’, because I was unable to stand.
  • Had to be ‘toweled-off’.
  • Had to be dressed

About tbisurvivor

Almost 14 years ago I was involved in a very serious Snowboarding accident, on the mountains of Big Bear, CA. I had a collision with a Tree & NOT having enough sense to wear a helmet or any 'protective' headgear, this collision left me in a non-drug induced coma for 45 days, fighting for my life. My diagnosis: Severe Traumatic Brain Injury. This 'Blog" is about my journey from a Hospital bed: motionless and unresponsive, to becoming alumnist of one of this nations finest schools of higher learning. On May 15, 2009, 11 years after I had my 'accident', I was awarded a Bachelors of Science Degree in Entrepreneur Studies from the Lloyd Grief Center for Entrepreneur Studies inside the worldly acclaimed Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California. Nobody expected someone who was completely comatose for 45 days to have the Physical & Mental capacity to do what I have done...so please come back to this Blog for advice on coping with a horrendous accident, tips on Rehabilitation, and what I Believe your next logical steps to be. If I can 'HELP' anyone out there through, I will consider this an enormous success. Victims who are subjected to the severity of what I experienced are between 0.5%-1.0% Come along with me, on this journey. I 'own' the domains survivalpt.com & erniesickenberger.com, But DO NOT have anybody 'hosting' those domains, as of yet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fron ‘Blogspot’ 2010

  1. Jack W says:

    Im so proud that you started a blog! Keep writing every day, yours is a story that needs to be told!

Leave a comment